Weekly Challenges 4 & 5: Media and Memory

April10

In my innocent youth, I rode a gorgeous Butterscotch pony. Though she was stationary and had fake fur, she was as real to me as any horse. She was the most important part of my daily childhood life. I rode to far-off castles in the sky, and won the gold medal in the Olympics. I would save the day and marry a handsome prince. I needed Butterscotch to be my friend, and stick with me to the end. After school, I would rush home and put on my fanciest gowns (A.K.A. My $5 Aurora dress), and go on my adventures. Her swanky stable
was upstairs in my playroom, the best place to pamper my closest friend. I would feed her only the finest carrots to be found and dress her with warm blankets in the winter. She was more than my BFF, she was always there for me.

But when friends came to my house, they would laugh and sneer. “Your to old for this!”, ” I can’t believe you still have that”. How could I ever let go? She was my only company. Then I realized, I’m getting older, I have to let go. My parents cleared out my fabulous wardrobe, and took my best friend away. My dolls and Without her, I will no longer visit the castles in the sky, I will never marry a handsome prince. I will never wear lavish gowns again, and I will never win the gold medal. I stopped dreaming. My innocent youth shriveled away, and I started to live in the real world. Today, that is what I regret the most.

by posted under Uncategorized | 6 Comments »    
6 Comments to

“Weekly Challenges 4 & 5: Media and Memory”

  1. April 16th, 2014 at 8:02 pm      Reply evanf391 Says:

    Stuff like this never gets old; it is like playing with your food at the lunch table.


  2. April 16th, 2014 at 9:44 pm      Reply rylieh200 Says:

    This is a great peice of writting! I love how you start your lead, “In my inoccent youth….” I almost felt as if I was the little girl with the horse.


  3. April 17th, 2014 at 12:35 pm      Reply kirc654 Says:

    I know what it’s like to be teased about keeping a stuffed animal even when you seem too old even though my stuffed animal will always have a place in my heart!


  4. April 17th, 2014 at 12:42 pm      Reply dyllanl314 Says:

    when i was little i had every pony there was


  5. April 17th, 2014 at 9:39 pm      Reply hansikak415 Says:

    ” My innocent youth shriveled away, and I started to live in the real world.” I like your word choice in this sentence because it really brings the meaning of it out. I am sorry that you had to give your pony away, I felt the same way when I had to leave my stuffed animals too.


  6. April 24th, 2014 at 11:07 am      Reply Mrs. C. Says:

    Ava, what a terrific piece of writing! Just because you don’t have your playthings doesn’t mean you have to give up on your dreams. Figure out what you want and then work to get it in real life! It sounds like you have a great imagination. Maybe when you grow up you’ll write stories about your magical friends and fuel other people’s dreams.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar